Physical Wellness: Marathon Training Week 10 Recap

Sunday:  12 miles at a 9:16 pace. This was my first running carrying not only hydration with me but also nutrition. It went well. I was really pleased with the run. I was about 1/2 mile away when a huge storm started rolling through. Literally right as I walked in the door to Eric’s, it started pouring outside.

Monday:  Arms/shoulders + speedwork. I tested out a new speed set and I’m not sure how much I liked it. I did my usual base mile of warm up 400, sprint 100 jog 100. Then I tried a new ladder. I did sprint 100, jog 100; sprint 200, jog 200; sprint 300, jog 300; sprint 400, jog 400 and then down the ladder again. And then my usual finish up mile of sprint 100 jog 100 for 1200 and a cool down 400. I racked up 4.5 miles with this workout but it was tough a grueling. The heat, my legs were sore, my body was fatigued….but I got it done.

Tuesday:  60 minutes of tennis

Wednesday:  ab/core work; legs

Thursday:  5-6 miles with run club (didn’t track)

Friday:  ab/core work

Saturday:  rest. Second Saturday in a row taking a rest day. Now that I’m getting further into my marathon training, I am seeing the value and need of a true rest day. Unfortunately for me (spoiler alert for next week), this rest day didn’t yield great results.

Overall, my body was beat up this week so the workouts were a bit “lax”.

Leave a Reply

