Occupational Wellness: You’ve Got Mail!…er E-mail

I suppose this could fall under life wellness as well…

I’m so guilty of letting email run my life. I hear the ding and in a middle of a person to person conversation (even when I’m at home or out or at Eric’s) I grab my life vest (aka my phone) and start checking my email. Just typing that sentence, my brain is screaming at me. It’s SO rude! I hate when people interrupt me while I telling a story or talking…I hate it. It drives me up the wall. But I will just grab my phone in the middle of a conversation and start scrolling while claiming that I am listening to whoever is talking to me (IN REAL LIFE).

But honestly, my day is run by email. If I’m not at my desk with immediate access to my outlook, then I have my Surface (yes, I’m that person) that is updating me with my emails or my phone is dinging letting me know that I have a new email. And of course I have to check it. But once I get home? Oh the dings do not stop. The dings are still there and the last minute frantic emails about something that has to get done right this second haunt my dreams as I toss and turn then inevitably get up and get whatever needs to be done. That damn email ding is like Pavlov’s dog experiment. Except less salivating.

Well, last week, LearnVest had an article in their daily newsletter about 5 steps to help keep email from making you salivate at a ding. And the tips aren’t too shabby. But I know that what works for me doesn’t necessarily work for anyone else. So I’m asking you, yes you reading this post. Go ahead in the comments and give one tip that you have for making yourself not chained to your email 24/7. Let’s share some ideas, shall we?

One thought on “Occupational Wellness: You’ve Got Mail!…er E-mail

  1. I refuse to get a smartphone for this very reason! I do still check email from home a few times a day but I don’t typically respond to them. If I could check my email on my phone I would very likely respond to the ding too.

Leave a Reply

