Emotional Wellness: Let’s Start Monday Off Right, Shall We?

Now I know BuzzFeed isn’t necessarily breaking news or cutting edge information unless you want to know what kind of grilled cheese you would be or see the rainbow of dresses worn at the Oscars…but I still enjoy a nice little chuckle every once in awhile. And while scrolling through to figure out which Buffy character I would have been, I stumbled across this truly heartwarming article. There was a race in San Jose remembering a fallen soldier and on the course, there was a WWII Vet in his uniform cheering on the runners. And then those (FYI-already starting to tear up, I love this story so much) started running off the course to shake his hand. The 95 year old was later interviewed and stated that he, “never got that much recognition in my life.” Precious. Absolutely precious. 

I felt this article was appropriate to share because you really have no idea sometimes the impact you can have on someone’s life. Just today, on my run, a girl drove by me and shouted, “whooo good for you!” (whether she was being sarcastic or not is not something I really care to analyze). But her giving me an impromptu yell of encouragement was really nice. I have heard this a million times that you should try to smile at one stranger a day. If they see it or don’t, if they think it’s genuine or not, you should try to share a little bit of happiness with one person a day. Now being an introvert, this concept terrifies the pants off of me. Having to interact with a stranger? In person? I’d rather not, thanks. But lately I have been trying to push myself a little bit outside my comfort zone. Maybe my “victories” aren’t as meaningful or grand as being able to shake the hand and thank a WWII vet, but…I’m working my way to it.

One thought on “Emotional Wellness: Let’s Start Monday Off Right, Shall We?

  1. Thanks for making my day with your lead: “Now I know BuzzFeed isn’t necessarily breaking news or cutting edge information unless you want to know what kind of grilled cheese you would be …”

Leave a Reply

