Emotional Wellness: Getting Through The “New Year” Marketing Campaigns.

This may seem like an odd or silly post, but I know for me, I dread the new year not because of the fact that I have to train myself to write a different date, but because I am now inundated with ads about losing weight. As the New Year arrives, so do all the weight loss and gym ads in every form imaginable. I often find myself at ends with supporting a healthy lifestyle and others aiming to achieve that and complete and utter annoyance at the fact that every time I see an ad it is ALL about losing weight. And every time I see those and I feel my annoyance level rise, just a little bit, I remind myself that tis the time of year. And tis our society always seeking the fast and easy fix and there is no need to let myself get annoyed by things that I have no control over. I’ve spent too much of my time getting annoyed over things that are completely out of the realms of my control. And that is more annoying to me than a diet that helps you “lose” 30 pounds in 30 days.

So that’s it. That’s the secret. That’s how you get through the ads during this time of year and during the summer and during every single day of your life. You promote health and fitness as opposed to the quick losses and gimmicky products and you hope that others follow suit. And you don’t waste your time getting annoyed at things you cannot control.

Leave a Reply

