Physical Wellness: To Flu Shot or to Not Flu Shot?

Washington Post posted a nice article in regards to getting a flu shot. It detailed all the benefits and options that people have to make sure they get their flu shots. But how many of you grumble and groan every year when you get that phone call from your mom saying, “Get your flu shot!”? Anyone, anyone? Bueller? Bueller? Just me?

This is NOT a post telling you to get your flu shot or to not get your flu shot. But as someone who gets the flu every single year regardless of flu shot status…for me, it just isn’t worth it to get the flu shot. Perhaps when I start falling into those high risk brackets (already completed the 5 and under category¬†like a boss) of over 65 or if I for some reason start to have a more compromised immune system I will rethink my stance on the flu shot. But for me, going through getting flu shots and not getting flu shots and still always getting the flu every single year…I’d rather keep my $25. I don’t have a fear of needles or anything like that, the flu shots just never seem to work on me.

But this is why it is important to know your body and to know what your body responds to. Read the research, absolutely. Know the risks of your decision. Be knowledgeable. But don’t just be a blind sheep. Don’t just do things because people tell you too.

Leave a Reply

