Occupational Wellness: I Deserve?

The other week, I was in a meeting with my supervisor and we were discussing a few things and the topic of the mindset of my generation came up, specifically in regards to jobs. We discussed how so many people seem to get into these “I deserve” notions. “I deserve to get this job because I have a degree” or “I deserve this job because I just do”. They seem to fail to recognize the value of hard work in addition to the fact that sometimes you just have to start off somewhere and start working towards a goal. Beyond that, we tend to glamorize these “success” stories of new graduates who got this amazing job without detailing the path that they took. More often than not they got this amazing job because they interned at the company and they got the internship because of a strong resume and interviewing skills but mostly because they knew someone in the company or had some sort of network in the company.

But I’m more curious as to why there is this mentality of “I deserve”. I definitely have fallen “victim” to this as I felt that I deserved x job because I have a master’s degree plus with my “work experience” (spoiler alert sometimes working during college doesn’t really count that much as work experience) so why shouldn’t I get the job? I absolutely should! Right? Wrong. You need to know people and then once you get the position, you have to prove that you are worthy of a promotion or getting that better job. We all know that networking is really important. But what about when you get the job? My supervisor and I were also talking about this because we were chatting about how different people report their unpaid internship experiences. We specifically were talking about the Conde-Nast program that is unpaid internships. Some people thrived and did really well and ended up getting a job at the company while others flopped and were miserable and blamed it on being an unpaid intern. We hypothesized that the people who were successful and had a good internship experience were probably the people that didn’t walk into the situation thinking that they “deserve” this or that but walked in thinking, “alright, time to work hard and show them that I can be valuable in their company”.

See the conversation that seems to get forgotten is that of, you network to get the job but you work hard to keep the job and to be successful. I can’t tell you how many times I have heard how important it is to network, network, network. And that networking is the best way to get a job. But what do you do to keep the job and to be successful? You work. And you work hard.

Leave a Reply

