Overall Wellness: What Does Wellness Mean to Me?

Yesterday I gave a testimonial for my wellness network that I am part of. Part of it required me to explain why I think wellness is so important. My readers will know that part of the reason why I love being involved with wellness is because I get the opportunity to educate others as to what wellness IS and that it is SO much more than just the surface of weight and working out. Part of why I started this blog was to be able to shed light to a wide audience and be able to educate others that wellness is so much more than just those two things. Wellness is everything in your life. And everything is connected. I wrote a post waaaaaaaay back in the day detailing how work can affect your overall wellness and Gallup has done TONS of research on this as well. In fact, Gallup claims that work is one of the biggest attributes to your overall well-being. And to that, I have to say, I think I fall into the outliers category.

See since I first took the Wellbeing finder and chatted with some wellness professionals, I stopped fixating soley on having a disconnect in my work and it not being the dream job that I so hoped I would have fresh out of grad school. I started concentrating on improving other areas of my wellbeing. By concentrating on improving my other areas of wellbeing, I in turned improved my occupational or career wellbeing which in turn improved my overall wellbeing.

So maybe it is that career/occupational wellbeing is a major factor in your wellbeing, but it is also important to a.) not fixate solely on that dimension and b.) don’t just fixate on what is going wrong in your life or what you can’t change. Maybe you are unhappy with your financial wellness, but what else could you do, perhaps not related to financial stuff that could improve your overall wellbeing which then in turn might improve your financial wellbeing. (note:  wellbeing = wellness, since I am talking mostly about Gallup stuff I’m using there vernacular). Say you decide to work on your community wellbeing and volunteer to help out with some group. You meet people. You chat. Hey you even network. And maybe one of those people know someone who knows someone who maybe has a job opening. And they pay is better than what you are getting now. You don’t go into the volunteering for the purpose of finding a job, you do it to improve your community wellbeing and to get the warm fuzzies that you get when you volunteer and give back. And it may not be as linear as that example, but when you do good and when you work on improving the areas of wellbeing that you have control over, it helps your overall wellbeing and leads to helping that lower area of wellbeing. It’s not immediate. And it’s not always easy. But give it a try!

Leave a Reply

