Emotional Wellness: Advice from Adult Me to Teenage Me.

I have seen a few of these posts or videos about giving yourself advice and what you wished the teenage version of yourself had known. I was thinking and pondering this post last night when I was walking home and trying to think what would be the most beneficial advice for me to give my teenage self and I have a few words of wisdom…that probably still apply to me presently.

  • Just concentrate on doing your work-all that drama is just secondary.
  • Quit trying to be someone you are not. Just embrace the fact that you are one heck of an awkward person.
  • If you don’t like someone, don’t waste your time on them. That doesn’t mean be rude or mean to them, just don’t waste your time and energy on them.
  • Just accept the fact that people are going to change and grow and if you grow apart from someone…it’s ok. Don’t be bitter about it.
  • Talking behind people’s backs will get you no where fast. Drama might be fun to watch, but there is no need to get involved with it.
  • Concentrate on things that you are in control of and not things that are out of your realms of control.
  • Quit comparing yourself to everyone else and making everything a competition.

I really don’t have too much advice for my teen self. And honestly these bits of advice are really general and generic. But that is mainly because the “bad” times during my teenage years were mostly self-inflicted and could have been remedied by just not getting involved with drama.

What would you tell your teen self? What is some advice that you would like to give?

PS:  this post is purposely a little bit more “light-hearted”.

 

4 thoughts on “Emotional Wellness: Advice from Adult Me to Teenage Me.

  1. This is a rather fun game! Like you, the advice I would have given teenage me would have been good in general, but clearly tailored to my personal experience. It was late in high school that the first signs of bipolar disorder began emerging and I thought I was losing my mind. Yikes.

    However, I would have reassured teenage me that “doing your own thing” may feel odd from time to time, but trying to cram oneself into a box to fit in feels even worse. As an adult I am very thankful that as a teenager I committed to doing my best to being true to myself and did not place importance on being part of the “popular” crowd and the like. I cannot imagine how different I would be as an adult had I not had that little morsel of wisdom so early on!

    • I definitely wish I would have spent less time trying to be like everyone else and more time being me. Out of curiosity, did you attend a large or small high school? I went to a small high school and I have a working theory that growing up in a small town and going to a small school, while it has it’s benefits, tends to have it’s pitfalls of kids trying to all be like each other-there aren’t as many opportunities to interact with others that have similar interests as yours if your interests are different than those in the mainstream.

      • I went to a decent sized high school – as a freshman it was around 1200 plus kids, as a senior more like 1600 plus. It’s the sort of public school area where you catch kids crying in the halls, then hear them say “I only have a 4.2 this quarter; my parents are going to be so mad.” I actually feel that being in such an environment helped me in college, as I wound up at UCSD, land of the 100 person “class section.”

Leave a Reply

