Physical Wellness: Just Keep Swimming?

I spoke yesterday that I was going to give a more detailed update on my swimming progress. This has been a post that I have been thinking about for a couple of months now actually. I have struggled with my progress in that I don’t feel like I have had any progress. I keep thinking that I should be able to do 100s consistently and flip turns should be no problem for me. But that hasn’t been the case. I have just recently started feel comfortable doing 50s and just last week got the courage to start incorporating flip turns.

When I first started swimming, I was doing every other lap with a kick board because I struggled a lot with breathing (I’m an excellent human being-I can’t even breathe). I just recently got to the point where I do the majority of my swim workout actually swimming and not kick boarding as much. I started off struggling to swim on length (25) and now I’m doing 50s. So even though I’m not where I thought I would be as quickly as I would like to be, I’m still making progress.

All of this just reinforces what I have been saying and doing all along-these monthly check ins-setting goals and making changes based on how you are doing with those goals. For the past couple of months, I keep setting swimming goals and just barely meeting them or not meeting them at all. But because I have been checking in every month with how my swimming is going, I feel like I am getting a good view on my progress-even when it feels like I have made no progress at all. It’s also a lesson in setting realistic goals. How many times I have I set the goal for me to swim 100s and to swim a mile? At least 3 times. Which is ridiculous seeing as I was struggling to complete 50s. And I have swam a mile once.

So what can you learn from my swimming? Checking-in is actually helpful. Setting realistic goals while having an ego is not always easy. It’s always nice to see progress from working hard.

The winner of my giveaway is: shawneequathompson

I assigned numbers to both people who entered the giveaway and went to Random.org and asked them to pick a number between 1 and 2 and shawneequathompson was selected! If you are under 18-you know the drill-ask your parent’s permission first. Please email me your mailing information to wellnessblogging@outlook.com by October 9, 2013 and I will get the book out to you shortly! If I don’t hear from you by then, it will default to the other entry.

Leave a Reply

