Emotional Wellness: How To Improve?

Washington Post and HuffPo hands down have some of the BEST wellness news articles for me. I was reading about emotional wellness this morning in THIS article on how to improve your emotional wellness. I spoke…many times last week about how I was having a slew of bad things just come at me (my car is in the shop for the third time in two months today!). So this article immediately caught my attention. And do you want to know why? Because even though it is “5 habits” to use to improve your emotional wellness, it is essentially one thing.

When life knocks you down…Get. Back. Up.  When you fail, learn from it. When you lose, find meaning in the loss. Pick yourself back up from rejection (something I struggle a lot with). But everything basically boils down to when life knocks you down, figure out how to pick yourself back up again. Don’t let it knock you down for too long. Learn from the knocks, the hard-times, the failures, and all the negatives. Turn those negatives into positives. I used this example in my essay for grad school. When I started off in college, I knew exactly what I was going to do with my life. I had everything planned out (I’m planner, it’s what I do). And in one semester (my first semester), one class took my plan that I had carefully been cultivating for at least two years and threw it out the window. I failed Macroeconomics. Which, seeing as I was a business major (marketing actually) is kind of a big thing to fail. So I, always a strong student, sat down as I looked at my dismal report card. In my first semester of college, I lost my academic scholarship and was being warned that I was about to be put on academic probation. I looked at my report card, saw that my highest grade was in psychology, and I went full force and never looked back. I graduate in 3 1/2 years and took my GPA from a 1.69 to just below a 3.00 (2.98). My GPA was not what got me into grad school. Rather it was showing that I learned from that failure and I was able to persevere and go past it. And in case you were wondering, I graduated with a 3.74 (or something like that) with my master’s degree.

What I’m saying isn’t new or revolutionary. But it is a reminder that life was never meant to be easy. And the true test of one’s character isn’t necessarily how they handle things in the good times, but rather how they handle things when life knocks them down and how they pick themselves back up again.

3 thoughts on “Emotional Wellness: How To Improve?

  1. “What I’m saying isn’t new or revolutionary. But it is a reminder that life was never meant to be easy. And the true test of one’s character isn’t necessarily how they handle things in the good times, but rather how they handle things when life knocks them down and how they pick themselves back up again.”

    I totally believe this. I’m actually at the point in my strange life that I get a little bit excited when difficult times come into my life because I know I will grow in a different way. I’ve taken a lot of slack in my life for being an optimist. But overall, its carried me through some really rough times. If we don’t have the hope that we will learn and grow and become better because of what we are going through – “good” or “bad” – then why live at all?

    It’s been years since I apologized for my “bright side perspective”. I guess your post (and especially that last paragraph) really struck a nerve. Thank you for writing this. It really encouraged me. You rock. 🙂

    • When you have gone through battle and come out on the other side it’s almost reassuring when you see another obstacle heading your way. Because you know how it feels when you make it through and how much stronger you are. It’s almost like you have this security blanket of, “alright, I’m a rockstar and I can do this. Let’s go!”

      Goodness, never apologize for your bright side perspective! I have been working for years to turn my negative Nancy into a bright side!

      Thanks Ginny!

Leave a Reply

