Physical Wellness: Would you Like Sugar with That?

Didn’t I say I was going to do a Gallup post this week? Well then, next week it is…

I have started to become a bit infatuated with HuffPo and the Washington Post solely for their wellness articles. They have distinguished themselves among other news sources because not every single article is about weight and losing weight and obesity and just weight related articles (one of my major pet peeves with “wellness” programs…wellness is more than your weight!).

WashPo (that doesn’t have the same ring to it as HuffPo does it?) recently published some new research on sugar. I’m oddly fascinated with sugar after watching “Hungry for Change” and how they linked sugar addiction to be similar to drug addiction (I have never been addicted to drugs but I have had my struggles w/ over consumption of sugar, so I sort of get it…sort of).

Anyway, this study used lab mice (cue animal rights activists here) and put them into control and experimental groups. Full disclosure, I’m reading through the research now and it is more science dense than I am used to reading so I may not get all the facts and data exactly right or interpret it correctly, but I’ll give it a shot. Basically, researchers gave mice in the experimental group a concentration of 25% kcal of sugar (which is equivalent to the sugar intake of around 20% of American’s). They then measured the differences that they found in the control and experimental group. They found negative side effects including female mice dying twice as fast and males not being interested in reproducing (if you get what I’m saying).

This is actually a really interesting study that Nature did (Jame Ruff is the first author on this) and if you have any interest in sugar or a really interesting research design, I recommend giving at least the Washington Post article a read.

I want to know if you have ever done experiments on your own with sugar? I gave up sugar for lent this year and struggled with it a lot but could tell major changes in my health. But even with seeing these major changes of my health, I haven’t been able to shake my sugar “addiction” completely. So what keeps us going back to something that is so bad for us? What are you thoughts on sugar? Is it a real addiction or is it just a mind over matter thing?

5 thoughts on “Physical Wellness: Would you Like Sugar with That?

  1. I think most “real” addictions involve some type of negative physical reaction to the loss of whatever it is you’re addicted to. With alcohol there is a literal danger to the person involved if they quite all together to quickly. I’m not sure that’s every been known to happen with sugar, but I also haven’t really checked into it much. I would guess though that this is more of a bad/unhealthy habit by definition.

  2. Good stuff! All your posts lately have been very thought-provoking. So much so that I often don’t comment because they are full of questions to which I don’t have answers – and totally feel like I should. I love your inquisitive nature. I think it is a beautiful thing.

    As far as sugar goes, I’ve often felt like I was addicted to it. And I have gone through many experimental sugar-fasting seasons (mostly just eliminating corn syrup and anything that came from a sugar cane). I did it for a year once. It was rough but not impossible. I obviously survived.

    The more I run and meditate (and lighten my physical load by experimenting with minimalism) the more I think I’m learning to love myself. Corny, I know, but the more I live an intentional life, the less I want to eat sugar. I eat it every now and then at special events but it’s not a part of my daily diet any more. Not because I willed myself to avoid the “evils” (food descriptions often remind me of religious discussions) of sugar. I just chose to stop worrying about it.

    Not sure if this is the kind of response you were looking for. I just decided to shoot from the hip and leave at least one response to your great, thought-provoking posts as of late.

    Keep up the good work. I’m still keeping my fingers crossed for you and your dream of a career in wellness. 🙂

    • I often say that I am like a 2 year old, always asking why. One thing that grad school really helped me develop is that inquisitive nature of mine.

      I love your response! There is never a right or wrong response to my posts since I am just asking for opinions-and unlike some of my college professors, I do not think that opinions can be right or wrong (sure you can agree or disagree with them).

      Thanks so much for your support! I’m loving reading about your minimalism journey! I have kept it in mind as I have been packing up my apartment and making a “donate” pile. I’ll do a post on that sometime this week or next week!

Leave a Reply

