Mental Wellness: Accepting the Aging Process

Last night as I was settling in for the season finale of the Bachelorette (I know, I know…I can’t help it though! #guiltypleasuretv) I caught the tail end of some entertainment like show that gossips about celebs or something. They were doing a really brief interview with Oprah and she said something that I found incredibly…incredible? I guess O is going to be turning 60 this year and when asked how she feels about turning 60, she said something like this (this is not the direct quote, just from memory)

I think about 9-11 and all those people that got up in the morning to get ready for their day and they didn’t make it. I think about all the people in the world that didn’t make it to 60. I’m going to celebrate getting here.

I love this. I feel like so much of our culture is anti-aging. Hell, I’m 25 and I use an anti-wrinkle cream every night. We get plastic surgery to look younger. We use products to make us look younger. We dress to make us look younger. We appear to value youth in our culture as opposed to aging. There is a quote from Audrey Hepburn that I saw last week that just happens to fit with this as well

“As the years go on, you see changes in yourself, but you’ve got to face that – everyone goes through it… Either you have to face up to it and tell yourself you’re not going to be eighteen all your life, or be prepared for a terrible shock when you see the wrinkles and white hair. Getting older doesn’t frighten me, but I wish I didn’t have to because I like life a lot.” Audrey Hepburn

Image

So why is it so hard for our culture to accept the aging process? What is it about aging that scares us so much? Is it that we fear we will be less valuable? Less loved? More of a burden? I don’t know. I have never really studied or researched aging…put perhaps I should start.

 

3 thoughts on “Mental Wellness: Accepting the Aging Process

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  2. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking
    back often!

Leave a Reply

