Physical Wellness: What’s the Value of It?

I noticed back in May that I had been slacking a lot with my nutrition and fitness. And what happens when you slack with that stuff? Your body changes and starts to slowly pack on some pounds. I woke up one morning and hopped on the scale (ok, I didn’t actually hop…I stepped) and saw a number flash before me that I hadn’t seen in ages. A number that I swore I would never see again.

I have never been one that has major fluctuations with my weight. I’m fairly short (5’3″-5’4″) and I tend to always be around the 123-128 range. Whenever I have major changes in my life, it tends to change as I am one of those people that seek comfort in food and I am by definition a stress eater. So when I stepped on the scale and saw 135 I was in shock. I wasn’t placing value on my physical wellness. And actually, when I don’t value my physical wellness, other factors of my wellness tend to go downhill as well. So instead of wallowing in letting my wellness slip, I snapped a picture and was determined to get back to normal Vanessa.

It didn’t take much. I just tightened my nutrition back to what it had been and stopped indulging in treats. I started placing more value in my workouts and doing different workouts (I started swimming in June). I just did what I normally did.

Here are my before and “after” shots.

Image

This morning, July 12, 2013 vs. the morning of May 1, 2013.

I honestly didn’t do anything drastic. I didn’t do a crash diet. I didn’t start working out for hours and hours on end. I just ate food that was good for me and changed up my workouts. I lift a few times a week, run a few times a week, swim once a week, play in the park sometimes, do “apartment” workouts, and just generally stay active. I eat healthy but I don’t restrict myself to a certain diet. I keep a pretty steady nutrition Monday-Friday and then on Saturday I tend to have a treat day and Sunday I tend to just kind of graze as I do stuff. I respond well to structure but having some flux with structure.

This is the point of this post. I had to do trial and error for a number of years to find a fitness plan and a nutritional plan (I hate calling it a diet. I’m not on a diet. Period. Don’t ever tell me I am on a diet.) that works for me. I have structure but I also have some freedom. I don’t beat myself up if I cave and run upstairs and get some jelly beans. But I do try and limit the number of times I do that.

I find that when I keep my physical wellness in check, it is easier for me to concentrate on other areas in wellness. So what about you? Are you comfortable with your physical wellness? Have you found a plan that works for you? Share in the comments below your thoughts on how physical wellness affects your overall wellness. You can also find me on Facebook or Twitter or feel free to shoot me an email at wellnessblogging@outlook.com

3 thoughts on “Physical Wellness: What’s the Value of It?

  1. Generally I do not read article on blogs,
    but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and
    do so! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thank you, quite great article.

  2. After looking over a few of the blog articles on your web site, I seriously like your way of blogging.
    I book marked it to my bookmark website list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Please visit my web site as well and let me
    know what you think.

Leave a Reply

