Physical Wellness: Late Night + Fasting = Grumpy Vanessa

I stayed up late last night to watch the Blackhawks game and also had to fast all morning for a health screening that I did at 10:30. I was grumpy this morning. I hate not having breakfast. I’m still feeling the effects of skipping breakfast.

Anyway, I wanted to share that as much as I post on the other factors/dimensions of wellness, it’s important that your physical health is in check. Preventative health!!

My results of today’s screening!

Total Cholesterol:  193 mg/dL  (Under 200 desirable)
HDL Cholesterol:  81 mg/dL (over 60 optimal)
LDL Cholesterol:  96 mg/dL (under 100 optimal)
TC/HDL Ratio:  2.4 (3.8 or below means low risk for heart disease)
Triglycerides:  82 mg/dL (under 150 desirable)
Glucose:  82 mg/dL (under 100 normal)

Blood Pressure:  128/81 (low enough that it is in the normal range; stress needs to be reduced!)

Waist Circumference: 28 inches (below 35 normal)

Height:  5’4″ (I grew!)
Weight: 129 lbs (I have no shame in admitting my weight)
BMI:  22 (grumble grumble BMI is a horrible way to measure health, but I’m normal using this scale)

All in all, glowing results! I sat down and pretty much immediately the doctor said, “you’re going to have good numbers, I can just tell.” I told him I better, I work hard at being healthy.

Anyway, the point of this post is that it is good and useful to actually know your numbers. I often times will request to not know my weight when I step on a scale because I would just rather not know. I don’t like basing my health off of a number on a scale. But getting your blood work done and knowing your number is great.

My action plan after this? I’m going to keep maintaining my healthy lifestyle. I track my food M-F and Friday evening/Saturday if I feel like indulging a little bit or sitting on the balcony and enjoying a beer (or 2), I will. I work out about 5 days week right now (not in major training for anything). I’ll work on handling my stress better and making sure my sodium intake is down.

Do you know your numbers?

Leave a Reply

