Mental Wellness: A Test in the Wold of Minimalism.

A year ago, I made the decision that when I moved back to Iowa to continue my job search, I would go through all of my worldly possessions and get rid of those that I didn’t absolutely need. And I would take my life and pack it into my Ford Escape and move back in just that. After many ums and errs of trying to decide what I needed and what I could get rid of, a phone call to Habitat for Humanity was made, a trip to the recycling center and a trip to my local Goodwill in Kentucky were made. What I was left with, was a car that was carefully and methodically backed to the brim with everything that I thought was necessary and valuable to me. I donated all of my furniture to the Restore (part of Habitat for Humanity), recycled all the journal articles and papers that I had done in grad school (there were TONS) and donated everything else to Goodwill.

All of this meant that when I finally secured employment and moved to Kansas, I re-packed my car (and it somehow all fit again) and moved with very few things. I kind of decided then and there that I would look a little bit more into the world of minimalism (and may or may not have spent hours in the minimalism tag on tumblr). I decided that one of my New Year’s Resolutions would be to live a more minimalist life and to buy things with more purpose and thought than I had throughout my undergrad and grad school days. This meant for months I was still furniture-less because I still hadn’t found anything that I loved or that fit my budget or that fit my minimalist perspective. After months of looking at a few things online and still not satisfied, I finally started garage sale-ing and found THIS beauty that I blogged about back in May.

After giving minimalism a good test run for close to a year of erring and umming…I feel ready to take the plunge full force into the world on minimalism. I’m one for testing out things and seeing how they work for me and how seemlessly I will be able to add them to my lifestyle (see THIS post to read about my other test of limiting/removing caffeine from my “diet”). And with me moving in a couple of months to a new apartment and with me also being a little bit more financially stable, I feel more comfortable and confident in this step forward.

Things that I’m going to be doing:

  • I recently spoke on my personal blog about how much I really adore the British fashion style of black and white and shades of grey and keeping thing simple and sleek…which means yes, I am going to get rid of most of the colorful items in my wardrobe.
  • I have hand-me down dishes that really do not suit my style at all (but they were free and free is always the best price as a college kid), so I am going to start scoping out sales and finding a dish set that is more fitting of me.
  • I’m going to operate a strict(er) one in one out policy with my wardrobe.
  • I’m going to concentrate more on the quality of my purchases as opposed to the quantity of my purchases. Which means saving up for bigger purchases, doing more research on these purchases, and buying things that are more lasting.
  • I have already done fairly well of taking getting rid of a number of things in my wardrobe as well as in my life so it won’t necessarily be a mission to get rid of more stuff but just making sure that what I am bringing into my life is necessary to have.

The other important aspect of minimalism (and why I am categorizing it as “mental wellness”) is the amount of emotional and mental baggage you carry around with you. This aspect is probably the hardest for me to adhere to and my biggest challenge. This aspect is going to concentrate on making sure what I am putting my energy too is necessary and a need in my life (like setting aside time to research for this blog as opposed to being on facebook or doing my favorite thing, napping).

Are there any aspects to minimalism that interest you? Do you have a minimalist lifestyle or is it something that would just never appeal to you?

In a separate note, I have created a twitter and facebook to follow me on!

2 thoughts on “Mental Wellness: A Test in the Wold of Minimalism.

  1. Oh wow! I love this! I too, consider myself a wellness enthusiast, runner, explorer, blogger, and a dreamer. I admire your courage in taking the plunge. I’m still experimenting with minimalism but I get the feeling that there are greater lessons to be learned from going the full “minimalism monty”. I’m encouraged by your words and I look forward to reading more. Cheers!

    • Ah! That’s great! I tend to implement stuff like minimalism slowly to see how it is going to fit into my life and if I am willing to make the commitment. Or I adjust it to fit my needs that way it is something that I will stick with and it doesn’t feel like I depriving myself of having something. Like…there is no way I’m getting rid of my fun scarves just because I want a more minimalistic life. I have a few bright ones that I just don’t want to part with. I like to customize things!

      I’ll be checking your blog out shortly as well! I love connecting w/ people that have similar interests as me!

Leave a Reply

