Half-Marathon Recap.

Facts first.

According to the website, official time was actually 1:59:07

Splits using my runkeeper app (which also had me running 13.41 miles)

Image

 

The Hype.

This race was doted to be one of the hilliest half marathons. Their entire slogan is about conquering the hill and everything in the marketing is about the hill. So going into this race, I was nervous that the hills would be horrendous (as you can tell, it really wasn’t that bad. I have run much, much, MUCH worse).

Pre-Race.

My sister and I ate at a Mexican restaurant and mainly concentrated on protein loading. We got up at 4:30 because the race started right outside of where my sister works. So we got there early so she could get a good parking spot and then napped until the race. We got up 15 minutes before the race started which means by the time we got down there…there was no way I would be able to make into my race group.

The Race.

Since I didn’t start in my group (I was slated to be in the 2hr. group, I ended up in the 4 hr. group) I had a lot of weaving to do. A lot. My sister enjoyed this b/c she felt like she was just flying by people. I did not b/c I had trouble pacing myself. At the half-way point in the race, I was at 55 minutes and feeling pretty good. But I was not hydrated enough. By mile 10/11 my body was just shutting down. I actually had to stop to walk a little bit b/c I got really dizzy and felt like I was going to pass out from being dehydrated. I stopped at every water station from like mile 7ish on.

I hit 12 miles and the little lady on my runkeeper let me know that I was 1:50 into the race…and I realized…I had 10 minutes to finish 1.1 miles…I could do that. That would be easy right? So I started by kick. By around 12.8 miles I had a stitch in my side that I would usually walk out but I would be damned if I would walk this one out. So I ripped my headphones out, and just started going. I would breath weird when I would exhale b/c of the stitch and the dehydration…but I didn’t care. I pushed and pushed and pushed.

Post Race.

Good snacks! But all I wanted was ice cold water. And all they had was sun warmed water. And chocolate milk. Which I’m lactose intolerant, but it was the only cold thing they had so I grabbed that. I regretted that later.

I definitely wore the wrong shoes, and I knew I shouldn’t have worn these shoes. And now I’m paying the price.

I really need to get my garmin battery fixed b/c holding my phone for 13.1 miles was a pain in the ass.

I also need to get a little hand-held water bottle b/c that would have been useful…I should also refrain from running halfs in June. They should be illegal. Ouch.

Also, waaaaay too much hype on this race about the hills, and honestly, I don’t even know what hill they were complaining about or boasting to be the big one. I kept waiting and thinking it would come and it never did. If you want a hilly half, go check out Run the Bluegrass. That’s a hilly half. This was just a normal half.

Leave a Reply

